California Chrome wins the Preakness Stakes

California Chrome wins the Preakness Stakes
California Chrome wins the Preakness. (Image: AP/Matt Slocum)

And now, sports fans, for something a little different.  The video below, which runs 2 minutes and 13 seconds, is a reminder of just how short these races are.

California Chrome has now won two of the three Triple Crown races in 2014: the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes.  The Belmont Stakes will be run 7 June at Belmont Park in New York.

The last Triple Crown winner was Affirmed, in 1978.  Seattle Slew won the Triple Crown one year before.  Secretariat, who won in 1973, is widely regarded as the greatest Triple Crown winner.  The last Triple Crown winner before that was Man of War in 1948.

The last Triple Crown threat was I’ll Have Another, in 2012.   After winning the first two races, however, I’ll Have Another was withdrawn from the Belmont Stakes due to a bout of tendonitis.

California Chrome comes out of gate 3 in this footage from earlier today at Pimlico.

For your convenience, you may leave commments below using either the Spot.IM commenting system or the Facebook commenting system. If Spot.IM is not appearing for you, please disable AdBlock to leave a comment.

J.E. Dyer

J.E. Dyer

J.E. Dyer is a retired Naval Intelligence officer who lives in Southern California, blogging as The Optimistic Conservative for domestic tranquility and world peace. Her articles have appeared at Hot Air, Commentary’s Contentions, Patheos, The Daily Caller, The Jewish Press, and The Weekly Standard.

Commenting Policy

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse.