4 Republicans join Democrats to protect Mueller probe in Senate committee vote

4 Republicans join Democrats to protect Mueller probe in Senate committee vote
Robert Mueller (Image: YouTube screen grab via Georgetown University)

[Ed. – And yes, we have their names right here.  Note, however, that Grassley and Graham have also been in the vanguard of publicizing the wrongdoing of the Obama DOJ and FBI, to which Mueller’s probe has in some key instances alerted them.  Part of their reasoning is probably that shutting Mueller down would jeopardize further findings on the Obama-era outrages.]

The Senate Judiciary Committee approved legislation on Thursday to protect special counsel Robert Mueller.

In a 14-7 vote, the panel approved the bipartisan proposal that deeply divided Republicans on the committee.

In the end, four Republicans voted for the bill: Sens. Thom Tillis (N.C.), Lindsey Graham (S.C.), Chuck Grassley (Iowa) and Jeff Flake (Ariz.).

Republican Sens. Orrin Hatch (Utah), Mike Lee (Utah), John Cornyn (Texas), Mike Crapo (Idaho), Ben Sasse (Neb.), John Kennedy (La.) and Ted Cruz (Texas) opposed it.

The vote marks the first time Congress has advanced legislation to formally protect Mueller from being fired by President Trump…

Continue reading →

For your convenience, you may leave commments below using either the Spot.IM commenting system or the Facebook commenting system. If Spot.IM is not appearing for you, please disable AdBlock to leave a comment.

Commenting Policy

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse.