ESPN to honor ‘Caitlyn’ Jenner with Arthur Ashe Award for courage

ESPN to honor ‘Caitlyn’ Jenner with Arthur Ashe Award for courage

[Ed. – Probably best that Mr. Ashe is no longer with us.  As a reminder, the Arthur Ashe Award was given in 2002 to the heroes of United Flight 93, Todd Beamer, Mark Bingham, Tom Burnett, and Jeremy Glick.  In 2003, it was awarded to Pat Tillman.  Last year, it went to Michael Sam.]

At the 1976 summer Olympics in Montréal, Bruce Jenner won the gold medal for the men’s decathlon, setting a world record with 8616 points.

In July, Jenner will be honored with another award, this time for a much different “achievement.” On Monday, Time reported that at ESPN’s ESPY Awards, the former world’s greatest male athlete will receive the acclaimed Arthur Ashe Award for coming out as a transgender. …

The newly named Caitlyn Jenner explained in an interview with Vanity Fair that his cover photo shoot with legendary photo-journalist Annie Leibovitz “was a good day. This shoot was about my life and who I am as a person. It’s not about the fanfare, it’s not about people cheering in the stadium, it’s not about going down the street and everybody giving you ‘that a boy, Bruce,’ pat on the back, O.K. This is about your life.” …

The Ashe Award, which Jenner will be receiving alongside his family at the ESPY award show in July, is one of the most prestigious in sports. According to ESPN, “the recipients reflect the spirit of Arthur Ashe, possessing strength in the face of adversity, courage in the face of peril and the willingness to stand up for their beliefs no matter what the cost.”

Continue reading →

Commenting Policy

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse.

You may use HTML in your comments. Feel free to review the full list of allowed HTML here.